The blog part

April 27, 2013

This is the blog part of my portfolio, and this is the first post. Allow me to introduce myself: my name is Richard S. Hetley, and if you click on any of the navigation links (except “Welcome,” I suppose) then you’ll learn more about me than this post ever could tell you. I’m a writer, editor, game designer, dungeonmaster, psychologist, vision scientist, computer programmer, and cook, though no one pays me to cook. Today I am also a blogger.

I come from a family of those who are good with words and clever with ideas. I also come from a background of extreme cynicism toward social media. So as I “launch into blogging,” I find myself thinking to a few years ago, when my mother (fully cognizant of meaning) observed:

“Today I saw a magazine article about ‘How to develop your web blog.’ I couldn’t help but think this was a bad idea. If I were a spider, and my web had developed a blog, I would be none too happy.”

Wisdom most appropriate, I think.

2 Responses to “The blog part”

  1. I’m just astounded that they put “web blog” not “web log”. A friend at a major UK publisher was last week having to explain to his marketing people why “online blog” is a tautology.

Leave a Reply

